To eat kimchi or not to eat kimchi, that is the question

Koreans love to eat kimchi. But, is it healthy? Does eating kimchi cause cancer?

I find myself torn because I enjoy eating kimchi. I grew up eating it. However, it appears that there are growing bodies of evidence supporting the connection between kimchi and cancer.  This is particularly true for stomach cancer, a common cancer found among Korean men.

I’m Dr. Joseph Chaiwhan Kim. I’m a Korean man. I eat kimchi. If I develop stomach cancer someday, I’m going to blame the kimchi!

 

One comment


Leave a Reply

